Recipe: White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Mark and I are leaving for vacation! We are heading to South Dakota to visit the badlands & Mt. Rushmore. This was a trip I took often as a child, because I have family in Idaho, so this is about my 4th or 5th time visiting, but Mark hasn’t been there since a kid, so I’m excited for him to see Mt. Rushmore, Custer & the Badlands through adult eyes- its a whole different experience!

As told in another post- we purchased a 5th wheel after searching for a year! This means I get to actually cook and pack and we have ROOM!! A lot more room than our 1979 pop-up at least! So I got busy baking a few snacks to take with on our trip to SD!

hewittfarmsinc.wordpress.com

We rocked the bright orange interior for 4 years while camping until we upgraded to our 2002 Jayco 5th wheel!

Now, my mom is a purest when it comes to the chocolate chip cookie. She doesn’t like variation, so we never had these White Chip Chocolate Cookies growing up, and frankly, I missed out! My mom has some explaining to do on the cookie front! They are delicious and easy to make! I highly recommend them!

Some of the ingredients you will need! I go through vanilla like crazy!

Some of the ingredients you will need! I go through vanilla like crazy!

The recipe is pretty simple! I even had everything on hand- except for vanilla- I run out of vanilla every other week I think!

Left- what it looks like with the eggs and vanilla added, and then with all the rest of the ingredients added.

Left- what it looks like with the eggs and vanilla added Middle- with the chips and rest of ingredients added Right- spooning it onto the baking sheet

I’m not usually about perfect cooking, so my spoonfuls onto the baking sheet are a little, um, out of round. It doesn’t affect the taste-trust me!

hewittfarmsinc.wordpress.com

The finished and delicious cookies!

I recommend baking them for the 8 minutes and letting them fall- they are better slightly undercooked than overcooked. So as you can see, my cookies are slightly fallen once cooled, but in this case, it is best for the type of cookie!

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

(Adapted from Hershey)

Ingredients:

1 C. butter, softened

2 C. sugar

2 Eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

2 C. flour

3/4 C. cocoa

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

2 C. white vanilla chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In large bowl, beat sugar and butter until creamy.

Add eggs and vanilla to butter mixture and beat.

In separate bowl (or if you don’t want to dirty another dish like me, add it all in your butter mixture!) mix together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt and then add to butter mixture.

Stir in the white chips.

Spoon cookies unto ungreased baking sheet.

Bake 8-9 minutes.

Yield: about 4 dozen

-Saraย 

3 thoughts on “Recipe: White Chip Chocolate Cookies

  1. These look amazing! I am certainly going to make them! You should make your own vanilla. I posted about it a while back but it is so easy and I NEVER run out any more! Hope you have a fantastic trip :)

  2. Have a great trip. I have not been to Mt. Rushmore since our honeymoon 31 years ago. Would like to head that way again, but that won’t happen this year. Enjoy. The cookies look delicious. I don’t bake much anymore, because I don’t need the sweets. But I sure do love them.

Leave a Reply

