Recipe: Cake Batter Blondies (101 in 1001)

I cheated and used canned frosting. Hey, a girl's gotta do what a girl's gotta do!

I cheated and used canned frosting. Hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

So I had a lazy Sunday, and I woke up in the mood to bake! Part of my 101 in 1001 is to try 3 new Pinterest recipes a month and with over 700 pins to my food obsession board what better time to try one out!

I remembered I had a confetti cake mix in my pantry yet from a bridal shower gift. I don’t use cake mixes that often unless I doctor them up, so this one was still waiting to be used. I went to my Pinterest board to find a recipe calling for cake mix that well, wasn’t a cake!

I came across this recipe from Six Sisters’ Stuff and decided to give it a go!

I didn’t have white chips so I substituted chocolate chips so they ended up not so “blonde” but still tasted pretty darn good! I also decided to cheat and use canned frosting as I really wasn’t feeling up to making homemade this time around (I’m going to be baking and frosting  about 3 dozen cupcakes this weekend for my husband’s Birthday so figured I’d leave the homemade frosting to that baking adventure!)

Recipe below: 

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Funfetti cake mix
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • Frosting and sprinkles (optional)

Directions: Combine the cake mix, oil, and egg in a large bowl. Add the milk slowly – you want the batter to remain as dense as possible. Then mix in the white chocolate chips (or in my case, milk chocolate chips) Spray pan (either 8×11″ or 9×9″ pan) with non-stick cooking spray. Dump batter in pan and spread to the edges. Bake for about 25 minutes. They may be a bit gooey in the middle, this is fine. They will set while cooling.

-Sara

Leave a Reply

