Catch Up, Tractors and Field Cultivating

So where did the time go between my last post and now? I’ll tell you where. FINALS.

This past weekend I did this…

Graduation Day! Why we always take photos in front of the busy fireplace, I will never know...

Graduation Day! Why we always take photos in front of the busy fireplace, I will never know…

In front of the Sport Management Wall. See that lovely photo behind me of all the pretty tables? I was in charge of all of that. Whew!

In front of the Sport Management Wall. See that lovely photo behind me of all the pretty tables? I was in charge of all of that. Whew!

I’m officially graduated! Say what? 5 years and 2 degrees later, Summa Cum Laude with cords and honors from Sigma Sigma Sigma, National Honor Society of Leadership & Success and Order of Omega….. I am DONE. Stick a fork in me ;)

At least for now…I’ve already applied to one graduate program/school and am in the process of applying to two more.

Now, enough about me. On to the good stuff…farming!

This set up helps us get our fields ready to be planted

This set up helps us get our fields ready to be planted

We plow to help make it easier for our plants to grow and to help bring nutrients to our crops.

We plow to help make it easier for our plants to grow and to help bring nutrients to our crops.

We have been “test driving” this new beauty for about 2 weeks from our local John Deere dealership. Mark was loving every minute of it. There is something about auto steer that makes my hubby extremely happy.

Maybe you are wondering what auto steer is and why he is so happy? Kind of for the same reason cruise control makes you happy on long drives.

Farmers are often in the fields for very long stretches of time. Try anywhere from 12-20 hours at times. My husband, father-in-law and brother-in-law often get in the tractors at 5 in the morning and don’t quit until midnight or sometimes later.

Auto steer can automatically drive the tractor in a straight line that you set through GPS. This  helps us get straighter rows, less over lap and makes us more efficient! Yay, the power of technology and innovation in agriculture!!

We have many reasons why we cultivate before planting. We cultivate to break up the soil after winter. Usually, the soil becomes really compact during the winter, and sometimes really wet. Cultivating allows us to create a nice cushy bed of soil for our crop to grow in. The same reason you till your garden to help your seeds grow, is pretty much the same reason we cultivate our fields.  We want to give our crop the best possible chance when starting, so giving it the path of least resistance is one of our first steps.

Here you can see the difference between our freshly cultivated soil and our hard, packed soil

Here you can see the difference between our freshly cultivated soil and our hard, packed soil

The field cultivator. It is about 44 feet wide. It fold up through the use of hydraulics for moving it down the road.

The field cultivator. It is about 44 feet wide. It fold up through the use of hydraulics for moving it down the road.

And now just for fun because I like to share my view from riding in the “for training purposes” only seat in the tractor is this photo.

The side mirror view from my seat.

The side mirror view from my seat.

Stay tuned for my next post about my latest job on the farm: rock picking.

-Sara

One thought on “Catch Up, Tractors and Field Cultivating

Leave a Reply

