Leap of Faith & New Beginnings

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.” – Steve Jobs

This is a quote on the background of my laptop. I’ve been looking at it every single day, reading it, reciting the words in my mind. Yet, I was a hypocrite.

I didn’t love what I was doing. My heart was telling me that this wasn’t what I was meant to do. I felt as if the time being spent in my office wasn’t being spent where it should be. So after agonizing over it for weeks, late night discussions with my husband and countless tears, I quit my job. Yes, I’m a new college graduate but I was at the same hospital in one capacity or another for over five years, so it was like leaving a family. I had a good job with a nice title there. However, my heart just wasn’t in it anymore. My passions were elsewhere.

My passion has always been there, waiting for me to grab it. Most of the time, it was slapping me in the face, saying “Hey, right in front of you!” Agriculture.

I want to make a difference in agriculture. I want to be a voice of reason. I want to create a way for others in agriculture to market themselves to their consumers. I want to be a voice of passion. I am a voice of passion.

Threshing weekend with the cousins. We farm the old fashioned way once a year for nostalgia purposes. My job- make sure the oats don't overflow the wagon.

Threshing weekend with the cousins. We farm the old fashioned way once a year for nostalgia purposes. My job- make sure the oats don’t overflow the wagon.

Promoting agriculture as the 2009 Rice County Fair Queen. I did a lot of 4-H ribbon ceremonies and barn living that week.

Promoting agriculture as the 2009 Rice County Fair Queen. I did a lot of 4-H ribbon ceremonies and barn living that week.

Agriculture has been my life from the time I was little. In fact, I can’t remember a time I didn’t have a sheep, chicken or rabbit hanging around with me. I’m sure my mom appreciated having them in the house with me from time to time. If you ever meet her, ask about my lamb following me around our fireplace room before it was finished while I rollerbladed around it. Yeah…sorry mom! It has just taken me a while to realize that is the career path I was meant to take. So now, I’m building my foundation.

Gizmo. My lamb that ate fruit loops & got to come in the house routinely.

Gizmo. My lamb that ate fruit loops & got to come in the house routinely.

I was accepted to Kansas State University for their online AG*Idea program to complete my Masters degree in Agricultural Education and Communication. For the summer, I have taken an internship with the Minnesota Farm Bureau working on the Ag Cab Lab. Lastly, I’m working on amping up this blog to inspire, to motivate, to teach, to be a voice, to lead and to make a difference.

Last night I sat around the dinner table with my husband, father-in-law and brother-in-law discussing the impact of new government programs on our agricultural business. I talked about using a new farming application on our cell phones. This wasn’t just a casual conversation. It was business, but business with family; and I can’t imagine not doing it.

So I’m taking that leap of faith. To better grow and serve myself and my family’s needs.

Grain bins seem to make good backdrops for photos. Ready to take the next step!

Grain bins seem to make good backdrops for photos. Ready to take the next step!

I am so thankful to have a husband who is behind me 100% on this new, beautiful, challenging, risky and what some might call crazy, journey I have embarked on.

Are you ready to take this journey with me? I sure hope so. Your words, ideas, suggestions and encouragement will all help me grow on this crazy ride.

So get out your wine glass, and open up a bottle of Pink Truck and make a toast with me.

Here’s to new beginnings.

5 thoughts on “Leap of Faith & New Beginnings

  1. Congratulations, Sara! Life is too short not to follow our passions. I’m proud of you for making that choice to follow yours. You have so much going for you in terms of education, talent, personality, drive, and, definitely, passion. You can succeed at whatever you focus on in life. And that most definitely seems like agriculture for you. Kudos to your wonderful husband, also, for giving you his full support.

  2. I’m a new college graduate with a nursing degree. Although I don’t hate what I do, I know it’s not really what I want to do full time for the rest of my life. Since moving to the country I definitely feel something in agriculture is right for me as well! So as of right now I work as a part-time RN and part-time doing the bookwork for my boyfriend’s family’s ag repair shop. I just started a blog about my life since moving to the country if you’d like to follow along! https://injohndeeregreen.wordpress.com/

    • Hi Brandi!
      Thanks for the comment! Yes it is always hard to make decisions regarding careers! I originally started out as a biology major going into dentistry so it was a huge change even in my undergrad career! I’m all about following your passions even if it means at age 21 or age 52!
      I will definitely check out your blog!

  3. Pingback: School: Why I’m Choosing Agriculture | Hewitt Farms, Inc.

Leave a Reply

