DIY: Established Antique Window Sign

My mom has a small shed on her farm that is literally filled with old windows from our farm. Some of them were in the barn that was taken down during a straight line wind, some are from our 100-year-old farm house that have been replaced, and who knows where the other ones have come from!

I’ve always wanted to do something with them, so before we moved I made sure to take one with me because I had this idea to make a vinyl family established sign on one of them.

I ordered my vinyl off of Etsy through L & B Graphics. They were great about working with me to make sure the lettering would fit on my window! You can visit their Facebook page too!

window

The window I used. I had to clean it with quite a bit of Windex to get all the dirt and grime off of it!

I had to lay out the vinyl and use a level to make sure that I was placing the lettering straight across. I didn’t measure from side to side however. I eyeballed that-so if you are really concerned about that, I recommend a window chalking pen or pencil so you can measure and then lay out your vinyl.

The lettering ready to go on the window.

The lettering ready to go on the window.

Est. Sign

Using a level to ensure the lettering was straight across.

I used the card that L & B Graphics sent with the lettering to secure the vinyl lettering. It was a bit difficult during this part because of how the vinyl was placed on the paper backing. There was a slit in the paper backing in the middle of the lettering so I had to be extra careful while placing it.

hewittfarmsinc.wordpress.com

And the finished sign!

My husband installed the hangers on the back for me. I was nervous about damaging the wood or not spacing them correctly. This way I could blame him if something happened- haha! ;)

My husband installed the hangers on the back for me. I was nervous about damaging the wood or not spacing them correctly. This way I could blame him if something happened haha! ;)

I loved the finished product once all the vinyl was placed on the window! It turned out great! I’ve received many compliments on the sign. It was pretty simple to do, and I’m looking at making one I can hang up or place on a table for Christmas! I love that I have a little bit of my family’s history and farm hanging up in our home!

Barn Window Est. Sign hewittfarmsinc.wordpress.com

The finished barn window sign hanging up above our basement stairs!

-Sara

11 thoughts on “DIY: Established Antique Window Sign

  1. This is a great idea. I’ve seen a lot of DIY projects out there recently using old windows. When Amber was married in September, she used window frames from two different barns–one from the farm where I grew up and the other where her dad grew up. She used these for displaying her guests’ name placecards. It was unique and meaningful.

  2. Pingback: County Fair Blog Party | High Heels & Shotgun Shells

  3. Is the vinyl used in the form of a rectangle or are the letters actually cut out? Wondering if the edges of the vinyl can be seen. I want to do something similar for a fundraiser!

Leave a Reply

