Recipe: Cheesy Potato Crockpot Soup

I don’t know about you, but I love a good potato soup, especially on a cold winter day!

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with a cheesy potato soup recipe. I ended up making it the first time on accident while trying to make a Crockpot casserole, when I didn’t read the label quite closely enough on my can of chicken broth, not cream of chicken! My husband boldly proclaimed it was delicious, one of the best soups he has had, and to make it again! I guess my mistake was a hit!?

I started researching some recipes and came up with a combination for you to try. I always say, use what you have and alter it to your taste. For instance, my husband isn’t big on onions, but will eat green onion (no idea why) so I always use green onion in our dishes! Warning-it does have a little bit of a kick to it with the southwest style hash-browns, so use regular hash-browns if that isn’t your thing!

Southwest Style Hashbrowns

These have some kick to them!

Cheesy Potato Crockpot Soup

Ingredients:

1 bag Southwest Style Hash-browns

Sausage of your choice, cooked and cut into small bite-sized pieces. (I have used both Andouille sausage, breakfast sausages & ham in this! Whatever I have available, I throw in!)

1/2 an onion diced or 1 bunch green onions diced (use what you have!)

1 Cup shredded cheese of your choice (I use sharp cheddar-again use what you have!)

1 Can Chicken Broth

1 Can Cream of Chicken Soup

1 package Cream Cheese OR 1 medium sized container Sour Cream

Garlic Powder to taste

Paprika to taste

Pepper to taste

In Crockpot combine: Hashbrowns, sausage, seasonings, cheese, onion, cream of chicken soup, and chicken broth. Now, if you choose to make this with the sour cream, you can add this in right away. If you want to make it with cream cheese, wait until about a half hour to an hour before serving the soup and add the cream cheese.

Cook on low, 4-5 hours.

Crockpot_Recipe1

I apologize for not having any photos of the finished recipe, but trust me it is delicious! How do you make recipes your own? Do you try and use up what you have in the pantry? Do you have a favorite Crockpot recipe?

-Sara

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Cheesy Potato Crockpot Soup

  1. Pingback: Field Meal Recipe Ideas | Faith, Farming & Cowboy Boots

Leave a Reply

