Gotta Get Down on Friday…With Folding Laundry

Rebecca Black has ruined any other catchy “TGIF” phrase out there for Fridays. Any time I try to think of something, that song starts playing in my head. Make it stop. Please.

This week has been absolutely crazy. Mark is now in week #2 of his new position working with farmers on precision agriculture and soil sampling, and it involved a quick trip 5 hours south of us this week.  This left Harper and I on our own for a few days. We survived, although I’m pretty sure my supper one night involved a few handfuls of cheddar popcorn and a Reese’s pumpkin. It felt a bit like late night studying for finals back in college.

Monday, I moderated the Farm Bureau Collegiate Discussion Meet that was held at South Central College. I always walk away from these meets with new perspectives on issues in agriculture, but also with confidence about the future of agriculture because if students just like those that competed continue to work with such passion about what they do, agriculture will only  continue to improve and grow.

Congratulations to all who participated!

Congratulations to all who participated!

I also served on a committee for program review from the student perspective this week. Mark and I are “continued education” learners in agriculture through the Farm Business Management program. The program and education we have received, has been extremely beneficial to the success of our farm. I honestly don’t think we would be where we are with our honey bees if it wasn’t for the program really helping us figure out a business plan and getting our funding in order.

Yesterday, I was up at the state Farm Bureau office with the state resolutions committee, looking over the resolutions counties had submitted to be voted on at our annual meeting. Last year was my first year doing it, I had never done it before, so I try hard to learn more about the process. I’m sure sometimes they think I’m asking a stupid question, but it is a big learning opportunity, and I want to make sure I’m not missing something when I’m serving on the committee. I find myself often prefacing with “This may be a dumb question, or I just need some clarification…” so thanks to all those that are willing to teach the younger farmers moving in to some of these positions! Our policy team in MN does a fantastic job, and I am so thankful they are willing to help clarify the issues and shed light when needed.

Working on sorting through the county resolutions.

Working on sorting through the county resolutions.

So tonight, will involve catching up on laundry…so much laundry. Who knew one baby could produce more laundry than her mom and dad combined? Netflix and laundry should be the new phrase if you ask me!

Harper had her 6 month photos in October, and since we got them back this week, I figured I’d share one of them with you!

Harper - 6 months

Harper – 6 months

 

 

 

I hope you enjoy your weekend. We are finishing up our final class of Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University class this weekend, and getting some projects done around the house. It is also deer opener here in Minnesota. I won’t be going out this year, for the first time in a long time, but I am wishing everyone else a successful hunt and sending prayers for safety.

-Sara

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

